Dunstable - Round One 2014

The National Arena Swimming League is the UK's Premier Swimming League made up of seven regions involving the vast majority of competitive swimming clubs in the country. Dunstable have been absent from the competition for the past few years but decided to re-enter to assist in the clubs development.

Dunstable Swimming Club got their National Arena League season off to a great start with a fourth place position in their West Midlands Three East Gala at the superb Aylesbury Aqua Vale Swimming Pool on 11 October 2014.

Competing against Aylesbury, Braunstone and Market Harborough DSC were against some tough competition, and the results throughout the gala showed just how tight it was especially fighting for 3rd and 4th place which couldn’t be closer.

The atmosphere pool side was electric and certainly the support from DSC parents was noticed!

Overall DSC achieved 1 1st position in an awesome 100m Butterfly swim by Alex Neeson with an impressive time of 1:06.99, 10 2nd positions, 17 3rd positions and 19 4th positions.  We also achieved one new club record coming from the fantastic Ellie King in the 100BC with a time of 1:10.65.

Division Three East – Gala 2
Points so far

Market Harborough       206
Aylesbury & District    197
Braunstone B    145
Dunstable       143

DSC also celebrated some excellent new PB’s with 10 new personal bests coming from the boys, and 5 coming from the girls. Junior swimmer of the gala went to Finn Meenan, and senior swimmer of the gala went to Alex Neeson.

 Head Coach Tim Hutton says “ National League is one of the toughest competitions any swimming club can enter and DSC put in a gutsy display against some massive clubs, all of the coaching team are very proud of their efforts.”

Thank you to all DSC swimmers that competed and did their best, for what was a high profile gala.  Thank you also to the organisers and supporters that made this event so organised but above all tremendously exciting.

DSC look forward to the next round, that takes place on 8 November 2014.