Mid Sussex Marlins - Round One 2014

Mid Sussex Marlins made their way over to Portsmouth for the 1st round of Arena League. It was some swimmers first experience of this level of team gala and everyone really pulled together and worked closely as a team. They put in a spirited challenge, finishing 5th with 155 points.

Although everyone swam their best – with plenty of PBs, some of the best performances included Dave Warren winning the Open 200IM, Ben Stevens (13) won both the 100m breaststroke and 100m freestyle, Molly Firth (15) came 2nd in her 100m backstroke. In the Open ladies, Gina Hobson came 3rd in the 100m fly and Rachael Bowen 3rd in 100m freestyle. Rhiannon Evans (10) came 2nd in the 50m fly. Will Curry (15) was just beaten to 2nd place,twice, taking 3rd in the 100m breaststroke and 100m freestyle. Olivia Teague (10) swam a great 50m breaststroke with a very close finish for the top three – Olivia gaining 1st position. Guy Cooper in Mens open 100 freestyle grabbed 3rd position.

In the relays, we also had some top three placings, the girls 9/11 team came 2nd in both their races, boys 13/U freestyle relay came 1st, Girls 15/U and boys 15/U came 3rd in their freestyle relay race, Ladies Open team grabbed 2nd in the medley and 3rd in freestyle relay with mens open team taking 1st in the medley and a very exciting final freestyle relay race finshing 2nd!

Well done to all the team and a big thank you to the coaches and club officials. Also thanks to the parents supporting – makes for a great atmosphere….

Whole team pictured below – Girls 9/11 – Claudia Benstead Schlup, Imogen Goodhew, Rhiannon Evans, Charlotte Johnson and Olivia Teague. Boys 9/11 – Will Chan, Henry Allen, Teilo Williams and Aron Hooper. Girls 13/U Millie Cummins, Meghan Stevens, Sophie Shaw, Issy Flower and Hannah Gower. Boyss 13/U Ethan Burgess, Ben Stevens, Jason Hawkey and Isaac Clark. Girls 15/U Maddi Barnaby, Molly Firth, Holly James and Ellen Marchant. Boys 15/U Joe Nehme, Will Curry, Joe Anderson, Robin Boyden and Sam Flower. Ladies Open Rachael Bowen, Abby Louise Rocky and Gina Hobson. Mens Open Guy Cooper, Paul Allen, Alex Bowen, Dave Warren, Harry Burnell and Caleb Boyden