Solid Performances by ESS Division 1 Team at Becontree

ESS had a solid second round in the second round of Division 1 of the National Arena League on Saturday, 9th November in Becontree. Our team had to face tough competition from some strong London Region clubs, but demonstrated once again great team spirit in the battle.

Many of our youngsters were swimming a year or more out of age, yet showing solid performances against older and stronger competitors. Outstanding swims in the youngest age group came from Maya Gaga, who set new PBs in both her individual events. Well done also to Tyrese Haughton-Locker, Caroline Dunnett, Beng Ren Siew, Andrea Demeter, Tamir Smith, Emily Whale and Tom Newman who all swam at the top of their game at the gala, setting new personal best times in their 100m events. Another strong performance came from Ryan McCarthy, who took a break from swimming last season, but impressed with his 100m Backstroke at the gala despite only recently having resumed training, undercutting his initial comeback time set at the ESS Open Meet last week.

Special congratulations go to Star of the Show Fiona Westcough, who achieved a fantastic 1st place in the Ladies Open 100m Freestyle, also setting a new PB in the event. Ellen Blane, Maya Gaga, Leanne Potter and Emily Whale all made individual second places, while third places went to Elliot Bertram, Ryan McCarthy and Maya Gaga. The Girls 15/U Freestyle Relay (Lara, Emily, Courtney and Caroline), as well as the Girls 11/U Medley Relay also made second places and brought valuable points home. Third places went to both the Ladies’ and Men’s Open Medley Relays (Ellen, Fiona, Beth and Jade; Ryan, George, Elliot and Joe), as well as the Ladies Open Freestyle Relay (Ellen, Beth, Caroline ,Lara, Jade and Fiona). Thank you to Omar Elkhouly and Jowel Williams, who both came along to strengthen the team in the Freestyle Relays of their respective age groups.

Congratulations to all swimmers:
Eddie Cox, Richard Farthing, Joe Overton, Sam Cornish, Omar Elkhouly, Ted Winfield, Tyrese Haughton-Locker, Tamir Smith, Oskar Soulas, Josh Branch, Adam Demeter, Beng Ren Siew, Tom Newman, Ben Howe, Joe Glazebrook, George Kapanadze, Jowel Williams, Elliot Bertram, Ryan McCarthy, Millie Flannagan, Misha Schofield, Danielle Clarke, Maya Gaga, Lily Tiernan, Nora Khadraoui, Andrea Demeter, Lola Pearce, Anna Ryan, Leanne Potter, Emily Whale, Caroline Dunnett, Courtney O’Connor, Lara Eyre, Ellen Blane, Fiona Westcough, Beth Holder, Jade Mehmet-Ali.