ESS Consolidate Position in Arena Premier Division

Well done to the ESS Arena Premier Division Team for an all-round respectable performance in Round 2 of the League on Saturday, 9th November at Hertfordshire Sports Village. The calibre of swimmers at the gala was of the finest in the Region, but ESS swimmers stood their ground against the tough competition and are well on their way to cementing the Club’s place in the top division of the National Arena Swimming League for 2014.

Performances that stood out during the evening were those of Deniz Erensoy in the 13/U 100m Breaststroke and Butterfly, Mia Hawkes in the 15/U 100m Backstroke, followed by Mia setting a fine PB in 100m Butterfly, Alex Kapanadze’s PB in the 15/U 100m Backstroke, Josh Kirlew in the 15/U 100m Butterfly, Michael Welch in the 15/U 100m Freestyle, Sam Pereira in the 13/U 100m Freestyle and Hannah Thomas in the Ladies Open 100m Freestyle. Tai Oyama also had two fantastic swims in the 11/U 50m Backstroke and Butterfly.

Sean Leahy earned valuable points by achieving two second places (200m IM and 100m Breaststroke). Alex Kapanadze and Deniz Erensoy both came third in individual events, as did the Boys 15/U Medley Relay team of Ross, Konstantin, Alex and Michael. Overall, the team finished in fifth place at the gala.

Special thanks go to Lena Soulas, who stepped in at the last minute to cover the Ladies Open 100m Butterfly, followed later by her fine swim in the 15/U 100m Freestyle. Thank you also to Louis Kirlew and Andrew Bartha who made their way to Hatfield to strengthen the team’s performance in the final event of the evening, the Men’s Open 6x50m Freestyle Relay.

Further thanks go to our magnificent team of parent volunteers, who helped us accomplish our challenging hosting duties for the league during the evening. We couldn’t have done it without you!

Congratulations to all swimmers:
Grace Lennon, Alice Comerford, Natasha Welch, Ellisia Baxter, George Bullock, Lewis Japal, Joseph Murphy, Tai Oyama, Emma Montague, Chloe Howe, Maya Kirlew, Emily Haimes, Caitlin McCabe, Fintan O’Riordan, Deniz Erensoy, Neil Chowtie, Sam Pereira, Mia Hawkes, Phoebe Jackson-Virk, Chloe Welch, Lena Soulas, Alex Kapanadze, Ross McCarthy, Josh Kirlew, Michael Welch, Konstantin Kapanadze, Charlotte Newman, Megan Holder, Jen Budden, Hannah Thomas, Toby Pasmore, Sean Leahy, Harry Jenner, Matt Bayliss, Louis Kirlew, Andrew Bartha.