Enfield A-Team Smashes Competition in Hatfield

The ESS Division 1 Team smashed the competition in Gala Two of the final round of the National Arena League on 8th December at the Hertfordshire Sports Village in Hatfield.
Charlotte Newman ensured ESS got off to a flying start in the last round, winning the opening race of the Ladies 200m Individual Medley in a lifetime best of 2:26.73. A further four individual first places were won by ESS swimmers during the night: Both Harry Jenner (Open) and Elliot Bertram (15/u) stormed to victory in the Boys 100m Butterfly, while Lena Soulas (15/u) and Mia Hawkes (13/u) also earned the team maximum points for their individual 100m Freestyle races.

Our relay teams were also victorious: The Boys 15/u (Joe Glazebrook, Michael Welch, Dylan Williams, Elliot Bertram), Girls 13/u (Meghan Byrne, Jessie Montague, Mia Hawkes and Lara Eyre) and Ladies Open Freestyle Teams (Hannah Thomas, Emma Tunstall, Charlotte Newman, Fiona Westcough, Mia Hawkes and Lena Soulas) all dominated their races, beating the competition by a comfortable margin.

A fantastic seven individual second places scored important points and were achieved by Meghan Byrne (100m Breast), Ellen Blane (100m Back), Joe Glazebrook (100m Back), Mia Hawkes (100m Back), Charlotte Newman (100m Back), David O'Toole (100m Breast) and Elliot Betram (100m Breast).

Also scoring valuable second places in the relay races at the start of the gala were the 11/u (Maya Kirlew, Chloe Howe, Emily Haimes and Emma Montague) and 15/u (Fiona Westcough, Ellen Blane, Beth Hassan and Lena Soulas) Girls Freestyle Teams, as well as the 13/u Girls (Mia Hawkes, Meghan Byrne, Jessie Montague and Lara Eyre) and Mens Open (Louis Kirlew, Toby Pasmore, Harry Jenner and Matt Bayliss) Medley Teams. More second place points widened the winning margin at the close of the evening with the Medley Teams of 11/u Girls (Maya Kirlew, Chloe Howe, Emily Haimes and Emma Montague) and 15/u Boys (Joe Glazebrook, Elliot Bertram, Michael Welch and Dylan Williams) and finally the Mens Open Freestyle Team (Harry Jenner, David O'Toole, Louis Kirlew, Matt Bayliss, Toby Pasmore and Michael Tunstall).

A huge well done also to all who achieved individual third places: Josh and Maya Kirlew, Emily Haimes, Jessie and Emma Montague, Hannah Thomas and Toby Pasmore (who broke the 54-second barrier in his individual 100m Freestyle for the second time), as well as our Medley relay teams of 15/u Girls (Ellen Blane, Beth Holder, Beth Hassan and Lena Soulas) and Ladies Open (Charlotte Newman, Megan Holder, Emma Tunstall and Hannah Thomas).

Other swims of note included those of Emma Tunstall (100m Fly), Oskar Soulas (50m Back), James Whiting (100m Back), Beng Ren Siew (100m Freestyle) and George Bullock (50m Breast), who all put in a huge effort to swim new individual personal best times and help the team win the gala.

Congratulations to the whole team for a fantastic performance:
Matt Bayliss, Elliot Bertram, Ellen Blane, Meghan Byrne, George Bullock, Callum Dodds, Lara Eyre, Joe Glazebrook, Emily Haimes, Beth Hassan, Mia Hawkes, Beth and Megan Holder, Chloe Howe, Harry Jenner, Maya, Josh and Louis Kirlew, Emma and Jessie Montague, Charlotte Newman, David O'Toole, Tai Oyama, Toby Pasmore, Beng Ren Siew, Tamir Smith, Lena and Oskar Soulas, Hannah Thomas, Emma and Michael Tunstall, Michael Welch, Fiona Westcough, James Whiting and Dylan Williams.